2016 Paragon Winners

The Public Relations Society of America Southeastern Wisconsin Chapter held its annual Paragon Awards banquet on May 19, 2016 at the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino. The awards program celebrated high-level work in public relations and honored accomplishments of more than 10 local agencies and companies in more than 15 categories, including media relations, social media, integrated communications and internal communications among others.

Paragons 2016 Best of ShowBader Rutter of Brookfield, Wis. received the coveted Best of Show award for its work on the Sauder Consumer Marketing Program. Other Best of Show finalists included Laughlin Constable for the Travel Wisconsin 2015 Press Kit, Laughlin Constable for Travel Wisconsin’s Road to Fall Fun, Kane Communications for the Energy Assistance Campaign and Laughlin Constable for Facebook Fans Get on Board with Travel Wisconsin.

This year’s entries were judged by the Sierra Nevada PRSA Chapter and were evaluated based on five criteria: objectives, research and planning, execution, budgets and results.

Peter F with his awardThe event also recognized two established professionals for their admirable work in the local community. The Communicator of the Year award was presented to Peter Feigin, president of the Milwaukee Bucks. With his experience in both the NBA and the corporate world, Peter Feigin offers a versatile skill set. He has helped to lead the Milwaukee Bucks since the ownership change, helping reorganize and refocus the organization’s business operations.

Jerry T with his awardThe Dorothy Thomas Black award was presented to Jerry Topczewski, APR, Chief of Staff and Chief Communications Officer at the Archdiocese of Milwaukee. He has been with the Archdioceses of Milwaukee since 1997. Jerry has been a chapter member since 1996. His service to the chapter includes roles as assistant treasurer and assembly delegate for the national PRSA convention. Jerry also served on the chapter’s inaugural community service committee, has been part of many APR review teams, was chair of the membership and Paragon Awards committees and has helped the chapter develop great programming over the years.

The PRSA Paragon Awards were created in 1983 to honor public relations professionals on their exceptional work. A complete list of winners is included below.

You can view event photos on our Facebook page.

Trefoil Group, Frigel “Imagine the Possibilities”
Bader Rutter, Sauder Consumer Marketing Program (Best of Show winner)
Buzz Monkeys, Uncrated. Unveiled. The Milwaukee Art Museum
Kane Communications Group, Energy Assistance Program (Best of Show finalist)
Trefoil Group, Metro Mold & Design – Manufacturing the Impossible
Laughlin Constable, Introducing Indigo-Clean
Laughlin Constable, Travel Wisconsin 2015 Press Kit (Best of Show finalist)
Trefoil Group, Wagner Website
Bader Rutter, Case IH Be Ready Blog
Laughlin Constable, Travel Wisconsin Promotes Fall Colors Through Drone Footage
Bader Rutter, Innovation Experience 2015
Laughlin Constable, Travel Wisconsin Supper Club Press Conference
Laughlin Constable, Travel Wisconsin Road to Fall Fun (Best of Show finalist)
Cramer-Krasselt, Paper Anniversary Blogger and Influencer Program
Laughlin Constable, Facebook Fans Get on Board with Travel Wisconsin (Best of Show finalist)
BVK, CITGO Roadhacks

Celtic, Inc., Hurricane Preparedness PR Campaign
Vollrath Associates, USS Milwaukee Commissioning
Laughlin Constable, Milwaukee Wakes Up to McDonald’s All Day Breakfast
Bader Rutter, BR Vision Week 2015
Cramer-Krasselt, Pick ‘n Save Engages a Community of Wisconsinites
BVK, Moffitt Cancer Center Social Media Campaign
BVK, Mystik Lubrication Domination
BVK/Serve Marketing, Zombie Campaign
Standard Process Inc., The Adrenal Health Survey Campaign
Greater Milwauke Foundation, Gifts to the Community
Celtic, Inc., Edvest’s Rookie Reporter
Carroll University, MBA Recruitment Campaign
Bader Rutter, Sauder Boutique Collection Launch
Cramer-Krasselt, The Annual Back-to-School Report
MAP Communications, “Nurses as Leaders in Healthcare Design” Book Project
Cramer-Krasselt, TIKI Brand Outdoor Entertaining Blogger Program
Bader Rutter, Eastman Tritan Secret Santa Facebook Contest