Communicator Award

Communicator Award
The Southeastern Wisconsin Chapter of PRSA annually presents a special Communicator Award to a businessperson, educator, politician or other community leader who effectively uses public relations and/or communications skills in the performance of their responsibilities.

Communicator Award Candidate Criteria:
Business person, educator, politician or other community leader.
Has more than 15 years public relations and/or communications and/or significant community involvement experience.
Has demonstrated effective application of sound public relations principles and practices in furthering a greater understanding of a business, community or other issue in the performance of their responsibilities.
Has made a meaningful, positive impact in Southeastern Wisconsin.
Must be present at the Paragon Awards Ceremony to accept the award.
* NOTE: In order to qualify for the Paragon Communicator Award, the candidate cannot be nominated by a co-worker and/or agency or a family member.

Communicator of the Year Award Winners:
2023: Sarah Maio, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, Wisconsin Center District
2022: Jodie Tabak, Assistant Director of Reputation Management, Northwestern Mutual
2021: Dr. John R. Raymond, Sr., MD, President & CEO, Medical College of Wisconsin
2020: Mayor Tom Barrett, City of Milwaukee
2019: Mark Maley,  longtime editor at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and most recently public affairs and communications director for the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) (presented posthumously)
2018Steve Costello, President and CEO of Bradley Center Sports and Entertainment Corporation
2017: Bob Babisch, Vice President of Entertainment for Summerfest
2016: Peter Feigin, Milwaukee Bucks
2015: Stephanie Klett, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Tourism
2014: Michael Lovell, former UW-Milwaukee chancellor and Marquette University President
2013: Jeff Sherman,
2012: Tom Still, President of Wisconsin Technology Council
2011: Wayne Larrivee, Voice of the Green Bay Packers
2009: Rich Meeusen, President & CEO of Badger Meter, Inc
2008: Milwaukee Police Chief Ed Flynn
2007: Tim Hoeksema, President and CEO of Midwest Airlines
2006: Carlos Santiago, Chancellor of UW-Milwaukee
2005: Gary Grunau, Senior Vice President and Regional Manager of Gilbane
2004: Beth Nicols, Executive Director of Milwaukee Downtown
2003: Daniel Steininger, President and CEO of Catholic Knights
2002: Scott Walker, Executive of Milwaukee County
2001: Tim Sheey, President of the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce
2000: Nancy Zimpher, Chancellor of UW-Milwaukee
1999: James Cameron, Founder of the Black Holocaust Museum
1998: Bill Hanbury, President and CEO of the Greater Milwaukee Convention and Visitors Bureau
1997: Sr. Joel Read, President of Alverno College
1996: Tommy Thompson Governor of Wisconsin